Research group and former students

back to main page

the current group is composed by

picture of Stefano Foffa

Stefano Foffa , permanent staff member

picture of Enis Belgacem

Enis Belgacem , postdoc

picture of Francesco Iacovelli

Francesco Iacovelli , PhD student

picture of Niccolò Muttoni

Niccolò Muttoni , PhD student

picture of Thomas Moreau

Thomas Moreau, Master student

frequent collaborators

picture of Michele Mancarella

Michele Mancarella , former Master student (2014) and former postdoc (2019-2022) in our group, now tenure-track professor at Aix-Marseille University.

My group is part of the Geneva Cosmology and Astroparticle physics group.

The Geneva Cosmology and Astroparticle group was created in the early 2000s by Ruth Durrer, Toni Riotto and myself, joining our groups to build a broader and stimulating scientific environment at the Département de Physique Théorique (DPT) of UniGe, centered around research themes in cosmology, gravitational waves, and astroparticle physics. Nowadays, the senior members of the group are Camille Bonvin, Chiara Caprini, Julien Carron, Ruth Durrer, Stefano Foffa, Martin Kunz, Lucas Lombriser, Toni Riotto, Francesco Riva and myself, and overall it has about 35 members, see here for the full list. The list of former members (more than 90 people) can be found here . Follow this link for upcoming seminars and recent publications.

To date, I have been the advisor of 19 PhD students. Some former PhD students:

picture of Alessandra Buonanno

Alessandra Buonanno . Alessandra is now Director at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics (AEI). She is the recipient of numerous awards and honors , such as the ICTP Dirac Medal, the Balzan Prize, the Tomalla Prize, and many more.

picture of Alberto Nicolis

Alberto Nicolis . Alberto is now professor at Columbia University, NY.

picture of Stefano Foffa

Stefano Foffa . Stefano is now permanent staff member at the Département de Physique Théorique, Université de Genève.

picture of Riccardo Sturani

Riccardo Sturani . Riccardo is now professor at the Instituto de Física Teórica at UNESP, São Paolo.

picture of Maud Jaccard

Maud Jaccard . After a PhD in theoretical physics, Maud moved to Medical Physics. She is now the Chair of Science Committee of the Swiss Society of Radiobiology and Medical Physics.

picture of Giulia Cusin

Giulia Cusin . Giulia now has a permanent CNRS position at the Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris (IAP).

picture of Enis Belgacem

Enis Belgacem . After a post-doc in Utrecht, Enis has joined again our group in Geneva.